Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Her Royal Spyness by Rhys Bowen



"Georgie, aka Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie, cousin of King George V of England, is penniless and trying to survive on her own as an ordinary person in London in 1932.

So far she has managed to light a fire and boil an egg...
She's gate-crashed a wedding...
She's making money by secretly cleaning houses...
And she's been asked to spy for Her Majesty the Queen.

Everything seems to be going swimmingly until she finds a body in her bathtub and someone is definitely trying to kill her."
(from the publisher)

my thoughts:

Looking for a light, charming, and entertaining cozy mystery? Then look no further -- Lady Victoria Georgiana, a great-granddaughter of Queen Victoria known simply as Georgie, is delightful in her approach to life despite her royal connections. Born and raised in privilege to one day marry into more wealth, she suddenly finds herself needing to find a better way to support herself rather than an arranged marriage with an obscure foreign prince. What's a royal to do after getting fired from the cosmetics counter after only one day? How about advertising as a char lady? And imagine her surprise when she is recruited by the Queen to spy on a certain prince and his scandalous American love interest! Add a dead person in a bathtub and you have all the ingredients for a murder and mayhem mystery.

Georgie is endearing, spunky and down-to-earth and this is a promising beginning to a 1930's era English royal mystery series. Her Royal Spyness is strong on charm and characterization and light on mystery, so it's perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer mysteries.

For more information about the Royal Spyness series, click here.

3.5/5

Title: He Royal Spyness
Author: Rhys Bowen
Berkley Prime Crime
324 pages
genre: cozy mystery

10 comments:

Ruth said...

I'm glad you enjoyed this one - I confess it left me underwhelmed and I haven't pursued the series. It felt too much like a modern chicklit, and I guess I was looking for more 1930s period charm. Just my opinion though! :)

Joanne said...

Hi, Ruth -- I thought it was cute, but I do agree with your chicklit observation. I gave it a 3.5 leaving room for the series to get stronger, and I like it enough to continue. Sometimes I just need an easy-breezy book, and this fills the bill. Thanks for stopping by!

Staci said...

I think I have this one on my Kindle??!! Sounds like a fun way to get lost for a while!!

Pam (@iwriteinbooks) said...

Oh how fun! LOVE LOVE LOOOOVE this cover. Seriously.

Joanne said...

Staci - This is the perfect kind of book to have on kindle when you're out and about. :)

Pam -- Isn't the cover cute? It grabbed my attention for sure.

Melissa @ Confessions of an Avid Reader said...

So glad you enjoyed the first book, Joanne. I think it's such a delightfully fun series, with each book better than the one that came before it.

Joanne said...

Hi, Melissa - Yep, already have #2 and 3 on my shelf! ha! Right next to the Stephanie Barron Jane Austen mysteries.

Georgia Girls said...

Sounds fun! I really enjoy an easy read now and then, too. Especially after a heavier book. I made a note of it. I see you have a name change . . . (Kim)

Joanne said...

Hi, Kim!! So glad to hear from you! Yes, A short time ago I had a little (book blog) identity crisis - ha! Decided to change to something a bit more bookish in the name. Hope you are doing well. :)

Yvette said...

Joanne, just a note to let you know that I've got an award for you at my blog. Since I don't know how to link back to me from these comments, just hit my name and that will take you back to the award post. You can lift the award from there if you so desire.

Then you can send it on to five other bloggers, again if you so desire. I like to keep these award things fluid. :)

Favorite Period Dramas

Mount TBR

Joanne's to-read book montage

On a Highland Shore
A Light on the Veranda
Entwined
The Queen's Vow: A Novel Of Isabella Of Castile
The Edwardians
Maisie Dobbs
Howards End
Lady's Maid
Instruments Of Darkness
When Maidens Mourn
Where Shadows Dance
What Remains of Heaven
Where Serpents Sleep
Why Mermaids Sing
When Gods Die
Shadowfever
Before Ever After
The Sugar Queen
Garden Spells
After the Night


Joanne's favorite books »
}